KKK in Maxton, NC

In 1958, in Maxton, NC, there was an incident that began to change the course of the Klu Klux Klan in eastern North Carolina.  As a young child, Sanford Locklear, a Lumbee Indian, was exposed to the Klu Klux Klan (KKK)  in Lumberton, NC.  He saw a group of men in a field dressed in white robes and hoods.  After asking his dad what they were doing, his father told him how the KKK operated by intimidation and hatred.  Sanford asked his dad why a group of people couldn’t stop them.  His dad had no response. 

 

In January of 1958, James “Catfish” Cole, a radio evangelist and major leader of the KKK came to Robeson County, NC, home of Sanford Locklear.  After hearing of this leader’s plans to rally in Maxton, NC, Sanford gathered a group of Lumbee and Tuscarora Indians and went to Maxton to try to prevent the Klan from coming to their hometown of Pembroke, NC.  The Indians gathered and waited for Cole to appear. Here is an account in Locklear’s own words of what occurred.

 

“And we got there. I asked the man, I asked him what was he doing there. He said, “We

come to talk to these people.” I said. “Well, you’re ain’t gone talk to these people

tonight.” He said, “Yes, I am.” I said, “No, you ain’t.” And so words was exchanged,

you know. And about that, about that time, I pushed on him and pushed him back, and I

throwed the gun on him. I pushed him, you know, and I throwed the gun on him. And I

told him not to move. “And don’t you move; if you do, well, I’ll kill you,” that’s what I

said. And he had his light up there. My brother-in-law shot, he shot his light out, and

when he shot the light out, I kicked his tape player, recorder. That’s what happened down there.”

 

After this altercation, many of the Indians fired shots into the air and the Klansmen fled.  Later, the authorities arrested Cole for inciting a riot.  He was tried and convicted and sentenced to one year in prison.  The Klan continued to gain popularity in North Carolina through the 1980’s.  Luckily, the Civil Rights movement prevailed.  How different things could have been had one man not decided to stand up for his people and against civil injustice.

 

(http://www.ncmuseumofhistory.org/collateral/articles/f04.ku.klux.klan.battle.maxton.field.pdf)

 

I grew up not far from Pembroke, NC and understand the importance of someone who will stand on principle.  I admire Sanford Locklear for not being afraid of the Klan and standing up for what he knew to be right.  I wonder what the world we be like if we all stood up for what we believed in, even if we were scared, or if people thought we were crazy.  I think too many people today live in a safety zone and don’t allow themselves to feel passionate about things.  Thank goodness for people like Mr. Locklear that know injustice needs to be fought.

Leave a comment